Skip to Main Content : Go to Main Menu

Sub menu

  • Wasim's first month

    Friday 30 January 2015

    Leicestershire and Rutland Cricket Chief Executive Wasim Khan MBE has been an extremely busy man and is loving every minute of his new job.

    View all news

Right Menu

 Search Our Website


 Promotions / Offers

application/pdf 1879 Club and Events (3.16 MB)


application/pdf 2015 Membership Brochure (588.71 kB)



 Gallery Photos


 Main Club Sponsor

 Global Payments


 LCCC Official Kit Supplier

 Kukri Sports


Seconds land comfortable Trophy win

Second XI Trophy: Nottinghamshire Second XI 159 (Raine 2-4, Sykes 2-24, Buck 2-31) lost to Leicestershire Second XI 242-8 (Robson 63, Bush 56, Wells 48*)

Leicestershire Second XI cruised to an 83-run victory over Nottinghamshire in the Trophy game played at Lady Bay (Notts Sports Ground).

After losing the toss and being asked to bat, County's opening pair of Josh Cobb and Angus Robson put on 45 for the first wicket before Cobb departed for 25 (33).

Robson was joined by Harry Bush and the pair added 96 for the second wicket, Bush being adjudged lbw to spinner Graeme White for 56 (55). His 50 came at exactly a run a ball (5x4,2x6).

Rob Taylor made 11 before Robson was stumped by Mellor off of Sam Wood for 63 off 87 balls, with the score at 163. Robson's 50 was registered from 69 balls (5x4).

Tom Wells then made a typical 'Wellesque' innings of 48 from 28 balls, containing three huge sixes and two fours. Ben Raine chipped in with 15 at a run a ball while Aatif Ali (3) and James Sykes (0) perished when trying to force quick run.

Keeper James Middleton was 2 not out, County closing on 242-8 from their 40 overs. Bowling figures returned for Notts were: Graeme White 6-0-24-1, Jake Ball 7-1-50-2, Ben Phillips 6-0-14-0, George Bacon 6-0-32-1, Brett Hutton 8-0-51-2, Sam Wood 7-0-56-2.

County soon had the Notts innings in tatters, reducing their hosts to 34-5 after 11.2 overs. The damage started by Nathan Buck (6-0-31-2) accounting for skipper Sam Kelsall (0), caught behind by Middleton with the third ball of the innings.

Fellow opener Tom Rowe (8) followed with the score on 28, run out by a direct hit from an under arm throw from Cobb. Raine then bowled Sam Wood (15) with the next ball before Charlie Taylor bowled Graeme White (3), and Raine (4-2-3-2) rearranged the stumps of Nick Langford (1).

Adam Tillcock and Brett Hutton took the score to 96 before Hutton was lbw to Sykes for 18. Tillcock (41) was run out by a direct hit from the whippet like Robson and Sykes (7-1-24-2) soon added a second wicket to his haul trapping Alex Mellor (1) in front.

Jake Ball, batting at number 10, made a cameo 41 from 28 balls before being bowled by the returning Buck. Bacon was off the menu as number 11 as George was unable to bat through injury, and the Notts innings closed on 159 from 33 overs, Ben Phillips being not out on 16.

Bowling figures for Leicestershire were: Nathan Buck 6-0-31-2, Rob Taylor 3-0-15-0, Ben Raine 4-2-3-2, Charlie Taylor 4-1-20-1, Tom Wells 3-0-23-0, James Sykes 7-1-24-2, Josh Cobb 6-0-37-0.

Pete Johnson


Our Sponsors

Go to Main Content : Go to Main Menu : Go to Top of Page