Skip to Main Content : Go to Main Menu

Sub menu

Right Menu

 Search Our Website


 Promotions / Offers

application/pdf 1879 Club and Events (3.16 MB)


application/pdf 2015 Membership Brochure (588.71 kB)



 Gallery Photos


 Main Club Sponsor

 Global Payments


 LCCC Official Kit Supplier

 Kukri Sports


Seconds win again in Trophy

Lewis Hill and James Sykes played starring roles as Leicestershire Second XI beat Lancashire by 62 runs in the Trophy at Middlewich CC.

Leicestershire won the toss and elected to bat and were 69-1 after Michael Thornely (27, 51b) and Dan Redfern (25, 26b) played nicely.

Liam Hurt (10-0-58-3) dismissed both set batsmen as the team slipped to 112-5 but Hill (72, 77b, 8x4, 1x6), who recently signed a summer contract with Leicestershire, shared a vital 65 for the sixth wicket with Aadil Ali (26, 44b) to get County back on track.

Experienced seamer Kabir Ali finished with good figures of 3-29 from 9.4 overs as Leicestershire were dismissed for 215. It was a competitive score and looked even better when Alex Wyatt (8-0-24-2) and Ollie Freckingham (7-1-17-1) reduced Lancashire to 22-3.

Sykes (10-1-30-4) then ran through the middle order with a terrific spell and once he had finished, there were further wickets for off-spinners Usman Tariq (4-0-9-2) and Redfern (3.3-0-22-1).

Redfern took the final wicket of Rob Jones, who made a gutsy 65 after earlier claiming 2-32 from nine overs in the Leicestershire innings.

Lancashire were dismissed for 153 in 43.2 overs and other Leicestershire bowling figures were as follows: Wells 4.5-0-17-0 (Redfern completed his over), Thornely 6-0-33-0

Leicestershire have won both of their Trophy fixtures in 2014 and now face Lancashire in a three-day Championship game that starts at 11am in Liverpool tomorrow.

* Leicestershire Second XI host two days of Twenty20 action next week. The first sees two games against Middlesex at Market Harborough on Bank Holiday Monday, May 26, and the second round of two matches is against Unicorns at Kibworth on Tuesday, May 27. The first game on both days starts at 11.30am.


Our Sponsors

Go to Main Content : Go to Main Menu : Go to Top of Page