Developments at Grace Road

1836 Earliest scorebook for Leicestershire County Cricket Club in Record Office.
1878-1900 Bronze Bell used at Grace Road.
1889 Old Pavilion built - presented with Fox Mask of fox named Joey caught on ground during committee meeting by Fernie Hunt.
1901 Ground moved to Aylestone Road.
1946 Return to Grace Road. Bronze Bell returned to Grace Road.
1952-53 Concrete terracing seating built. Stand brought from Aylestone Road which was first called the Richards Stand and then The Meet. Weather vane presented by Reverend Logan in memory of his grandfather J.W. Logan, past President of the Club.
1955 Dark green blazers introduced with gold embroidered badge for capped players and scarlet for uncapped players.
1965 The Meet made into two floors with 130 foot Long Room upstairs including an excellent dance floor.
1966 Purchase of the ground from the corporation. Opening of the new Pavilion. 200 Club founded.
1968 Addition of Long Room for Members, which could be turned into indoor nets in the winter. Members bar built from what were the Second XI changing rooms. Perimeter trees given by Earl of Lanesborough which were later replaced after Dutch Elm disease.
1969 New entrance gates at the Park Hill Drive entrance were given by E.E. Snow and at the Curzon Road entrance by S.T. Hickling.
1971 New entrance gates to Officials and Players entrance in Milligan Road given by the President Bill Bentley.
1974 The Cricketers public house was completely rebuilt by Everards.
1976 The outfield was completely re-seeded.
1978 The pavilion was altered and sponsors boxes built
1993 The Indoor Cricket School was built at the Hawkesbury Road end.
1996 Mr Peter Freer funded showcases for a Museum and Mr B.A.F.Smith opened it.
1997 New drainage installed across the whole playing area.
1999 The Media Centre and Championship Lounge were added to the Indoor Cricket School and opened by HRH the Duke of Kent. The Hawkes family donated the electronic scoreboard and the first floodlit match took place.
2000 Opening of the David Gower Executive Suite. Hinckley Cricket Ground was purchased as Second XI ground. A fitness centre was added to the Indoor Cricket School.
2003 Mr Trevor Bennett had the Curzon Road car park resurfaced with bricks and handsome iron gates installed. The Club became an Independent Provident Society with a completely new Board of six Directors.
2005 Formation of unique commercial partnership with Investors in Cricket and Grace Road hosted the first International 20/20 Club Championship.
2007 New 500 capacity pitchside marquee installed for hosting of events.
2008 New Fitness Suite installed in Indoor School, which was renamed the Mike Turner Indoor Cricket Centre
2015

Work undertaken at the Bennett End of the ground in the media centre with a broadcasting studio built. This was the first part of the broadcasting project.

2016

The first phase of the club’s ground development plan (January-May 2016) includes floodlight installation (permission granted on January 6th, 2016), replacement of the Milligan Road wall, reducing the outfield area, and IT infrastructure. The building of a Sky gantry, three new radio boxes and restoration of the Maurice Burrows Stand is also being undertaken, as well as work on the Sky gantry at the Bennett End of the ground. This forms the second part of the broadcasting project. The second phase of the plan (from October 2016) includes redevelopment to the red seated stand in front of main reception, and refurbishment of the Meet.

2017 The final part of the broadcasting project is planned with a permanent gantry built at mid-wicket, just along from the Meet.

OUR SPONSORS