Sayer stars but Rothley edge home

by Harry Josephs

Leicestershire all-rounder Rob Sayer hit a breathtaking 94 from just 86 balls in an innings that included eight maximums and five boundaries.

However, despite Sayer’s best efforts with bat and ball, he could not prevent his Barrow side losing to Rothley Park by one wicket.

Barrow batted first and only the top three batsmen reached double figures, including opener Jack Nightingale (34), as the team were bowled out for 172.

Rothley skipper Hamzah Khan starred with the ball taking 5-34 from 9.2 overs. Phil DeFreitas also performed well in claiming figures of 3 for 22 (7).

Barrow then had Rothley 121-9, Stansha Galloway had figures of 3-20 from his 10 overs and Sayer’s impressive game continued; although he didn’t take a wicket, the off-spinner recorded incredible figures of 13 overs, 5 maidens, conceding just 14 runs.

Sardeep Salgotra also took two wickets from 12 overs. Rothley’s last wicket partnership played a key role as DeFreitas ended on an unbeaten 39 and number 11 Phil Hackett was 10 not out to see their side to a one-wicket victory.

Leaders Sileby Town are just seven points away from securing their first ever Everards Premier League title as they ran out four-wicket winners against Leicester Ivanhoe.

Ivanhoe won the toss and elected to bat and Sam Evans’ superb year carried on as he top-scored with 46. Ivanhoe were bowled out for 185, Jake Beaumont scoring 33. For Sileby, Leicestershire bowler Dieter Klein took three wickets with Neil Pullen and Ryan Dawson both taking two-fors.

The Sileby response got off to a poor start; at 24-4 Ivanhoe had a great opportunity to cause an upset. Imran Khan took three of the early wickets.

Liam Kinch rescued Sileby and consolidated the innings with 62 not out, he was supported by Mitchell Buck 48 and Klein (29) before Brady Glennon scored 25 not out to see Sileby to victory.

Callum Parkinson performed well for Enderby with bat and ball but he couldn’t prevent Market Harborough from claiming a winning draw.

Harborough batted first and scored 276 for 9 as openers Joe Kendall and Tom Leonard both recorded half centuries, Kendall scoring 93 and Leonard 59. Don Butchart made 70 while Parkinson was the standout bowler for Enderby, taking 3-30 from his 10 over allocation.

In reply Enderby were always in the game with Parkinson recording 64 from 77 balls to keep his side in the game. He was supported by Shaun Wormington who made 38. However, Harborough took regular wickets with Jack O’Callaghan having the analysis of 10-1-26-4. Harborough were unable to bowl Enderby out, they finished at 235-8.

Kegworth were comfortable winners against Kibworth. Brent Williams scored his third century of the season and second in consecutive weeks. He was supported by Danny Murty who made 69 as Kegworth posted 239-6 from their 50 overs. The Kibworth reply never really got going and although Darren Shaw scored 41 and Monik Patel made 38, Kibworth were bowled out for 189 as Kegworth claimed a 50-run victory.

Loughborough Town put in the performance of the weekend as they were nine-wicket winners over Syston Town. Syston batted first but were blown away for 95 by James Rishton (4 wickets), Tom Wells (3) and George Kenny (2). Rishton’s superb game continued as he smashed 42 not out from just 22 balls while Anish Patel made 30 not out to see Loughborough to a nine-wicket win.

Lutterworth were also comfortable winners at the weekend over Barkby United, who made 167-8 from their 50 overs. Scott Moore top-scored with 37 not out at number eight and wicket-keeper Ben Silver made 35. Karl Smith took 3-34 and Nathan Welham 2-22 from their respective ten-over allocations.

The Lutterworth chase was a family affair as cousins Oliver and Matt Pickering opened the batting with brothers Lewis and Alec Hill following.

The Pickering cousins got Lutterworth off to a solid start before Oliver fell for 47, bringing Leicestershire wicket-keeper Lewis Hill to the crease who made 49. Matt Pickering ended 42 not out and Alec Hill 0 not out as Lutterworth ran out eight-wicket winners.