Sileby land title

by Harry Josephs

Sileby Town secured this year’s Everards Leicestershire and Rutland Premier Division title with a winning draw against Lutterworth on Saturday. 

Sileby batted first and found themselves in trouble at 40 for 4 with George Terry taking three early wickets for Lutterworth. 

However, Liam Kinch and Mitchell Buck came together for the fifth wicket and put on 107 before Buck was dismissed for a run a ball 67 that included ten boundaries and a six. 

Kinch was dismissed later for 76 which came from 103 balls and also included ten boundaries and Sileby ended up on 230-8 from their 50 overs. For Lutterworth Terry was the star with the ball as he ended with the superb figures of 10-5-20-3.

In response Lutterworth got off to a great start with openers Oliver and Matt Pickering carrying on their good form with a partnership of 112 for the first wicket. 

Oliver was the first wicket to fall, scoring 51, and Matt made 78, however, the rest of the Lutterworth batting struggled. 

Leicestershire wicket-keeper Lewis Hill, fresh off his unbeaten 85 against Kent, fell for 15 and Lutterworth ended their innings on 204-7. The Sileby wickets were shared around, Ryan Dawson and Neil Pullen both took two. 

Leicester Ivanhoe, who were without both Sam Evans and Harry Swindells who were making their Leicestershire debuts against West Indies, ran out comfortable winners against Enderby. 

Enderby batted first and reached 200 for 7. Shaun Wormington made 55 and several other batsmen, including Callum Parkinson, made scores in the twenties. There was an even distribution of wickets for Ivanhoe, Peter Dickson and Jake Beaumont both taking two. 

It was Dickson and Beaumont who also shone with the bat. With three early wickets falling Ivanhoe required a partnership and the pair delivered. Dickson ended with an unbeaten 95 and Beaumont and unbeaten 55 to see their side to a seven-wicket victory. Chris Conway had given Enderby hope with two early wickets and he finished with figures of 10-4-20-2.

Kegworth had an impressive victory over the inform Loughborough Town, running out 161 run winners. Batting first Kegworth made 239-8 with Danny Murty top scoring with 77. Nil Patel bowled well for Loughborough taking 3-28 from his 10 overs. 

The Loughborough chase never got going and at 13-6 the game was always going to be Kegworth’s. Jordan Holmes and Ziab Khan bowled superbly and took the first six wickets between them. Loughborough ended at 78 all out with only Joe Purvis and Nathan Bowley making double figures with 21 and 17 respectively.

Rothley Park put in an impressive performance with the ball on Saturday to defend 184 against Syston Town. Rothley batted first and opener Khizer Khan top-scored with 38, Adam Hackett made 35 and Chris Beall made 25, Syston also conceded 36 extras. Mo Pardesi was the star performer with the ball for Syston in taking 4 for 41 from his 10-over allocation.

Syston were under the cosh immediately at 26-3, Ben Drake slightly steadied the ship with 46 and at 122-6 Syston were in the game. The final four wickets fell for just four runs meaning Rothley ran out winners by 58 runs. Khan took three wickets as did Hamzah Khan, both bowlers had economies below three showing great levels of control. 

Kibworth ran out winners in a close encounter with Barkby United. Barkby batted first and were bowled out for 173. In response Kibworth chased the score for the loss of seven wickets with Matt Craven providing a calming presence with an unbeaten 68 to see his side home. Cameron Sharp had bowled well for Barkby in taking 3-37.

Barrow Town were comfortable winners against Market Harborough in the final game of the division. Harborough batted first and made 169 before being bowled out. 

Sardeep Salgotra performed well with the ball for Barrow taking 3 for 32. In reply Barrow chased Harborough’s score for the loss of just two wickets. Opener Ramesh Kara smashed an unbeaten 107 to see his side over the victory line.