Six Academy graduates in line to face Windies

Leicestershire CCC have named six players who have graduated through their flourishing Academy in the squad for the tourist match against the Windies.

Batsman Sam Evans and wicket-keeper Harry Swindells are in line for their debuts after signing their first professional contracts during the 2017 season.

The duo are joined by Aadil Ali, Zak Chappell, Tom Wells and Rob Sayer, who have also come through the Academy in recent years.

Also included in a 13-man squad are spinners Dominic Butchart, who is on Leicestershire's Sub Academy, and Matty McKiernan.

McKiernan is a leg-spinner who started his career at Lancashire alongside fellow squad members Harry Dearden and Gavin Griffiths. The slow bowlers played in Leicestershire Second XI's three-day friendly victory against Nottinghamshire this week.

Ned Eckersley will captain a youthful side while, as has been club policy over the last few years, Second XI Coach John Sadler will be coach of the team for the tourist game. He will be assisted by Academy Director Andy Siddall.

Sadler said: “It is a great opportunity for some of our younger players to test themselves against a quality West Indies side.

“West Indies produced a brilliant performance against England in the second test match and a lot of those players will be involved in the game. It is a great chance for our players to make a name for themselves.”

The Windies arrive buoyed by their terrific five-wicket victory in the second Investec test match against England.

That game saw Shai Hope become the first ever batsman to record a century in each first-class innings of a game at Headingley while Kraigg Brathwaite went close, scoring 95 to go with his first innings ton. Captain Jason Holder also bowled well in the match.

Leicestershire's game against Windies could see the tourists feature Miguel Cummins, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph and Raymon Reifer, a quartet who are part of the 15-man squad but didn't play in the second test.

Leicestershire (from): Eckersley (capt), Aadil, Butchart, Chappell, Dearden, Evans, Griffiths, Jones, Klein, McKiernan, Sayer, Swindells (wk), Wells.

Windies (from): Holder (capt), Brathwaite, Bishoo, Blackwood, Chase, Cummins, Dowrich (wk), Gabriel, Hetmyer, K. Hope, S. Hope, Joseph, Powell, Reifer, Roach.