Survival race going to the wire

Callum Parkinson had a good all-round game for Enderby and their survival bid will go down to the last weekend when they play Lutterworth with the winner securing Everards Premier League status for another year.

Enderby took on already crowned champions Sileby Town and amassed 255 before being bowled out. Shaun Wormington smashed 134 from just 76 balls, including 19 boundaries and five maximums, opener Nick Hood supported him with 47 and Parkinson hit 34. 

For Sileby Matt Ellis took four wickets from 9.2 overs, conceding just 36 runs in the process. Sileby made steady progress in their chase, Liam Kinch top scored with 95; however Parkinson took three wickets with the ball from his 10-over allocation. Sileby ended up with 230, nine wickets down, meaning that Enderby had a winning draw.

Loughborough Town warmed up for their County Cup Final with a 19-run victory over Barkby United on Saturday. Loughborough batted first and scored 213 from their 50 overs. Andy Rishton top-scored batting at number three with 89; he was well supported by Shyam Patel 31. Aiden Morris took three wickets for Barkby. 

Five Loughborough bowlers took two wickets each as Barkby were bowled out for 194. Leicestershire all-rounder Tom Wells was the most economical bowler, conceding just 31 runs from his 10 overs, whilst bowling four maidens. Jacob Bailey, George Kenny, Rishton and Nil Patel were the other wicket-takers.

Market Harborough and Kegworth shared a rain-affected game with Harborough coming out with a winning draw. Harborough racked up a massive 234 from just 39 overs. Opener Joe Kendall scored 69 and former fox Rob Taylor made 66. 

Zak Chappell then struck a rapid 45 from 28 balls, which included nine boundaries. Kegworth made 68 for the loss of four wickets from 22 overs. Chappell was excellent with the ball as well, taking the early wicket of Luke Woolley and finishing with figures of 8-2-14-1. 

Leicester Ivanhoe won a low scoring game against Syston with Leicestershire opener Sam Evans’ fine season continued as he top scored with 67 and Sam Ward made 52. Mo Pardesi took 5-32 and Umar Razzaq 3-15; leaving Syston feeling they had a very gettable score. 

However, they were bowled out for 116 with Jack Gilford the star performer for Ivanhoe taking 4-27. Charles Wootton offered the only resistance with an unbeaten 56.

Kibworth and Rothley Park’s fixture was abandoned after just seven overs, with Aadil Ali 20 not out and Matt Craven 17*. Lutterworth kept their survival hopes in tact as they beat Barrow. Barrow batted first and were bowled out for 188. In response Lutterworth chased their total for the loss of five wickets.

On Sunday Kibworth won the County Cup for the third year in a row. Facing Loughborough Town, Kibworth won the toss and elected to bowl. Loughborough were bowled out for 191 having been 130 for 1. Loughborough captain Anish Patel and Ashish Trusz both top-scored with 51 and Joe Purvis scored 38. Richard Jackson took 3-31 and Darren Shaw took two wickets.

Kibworth then chased their target for the loss of five wickets. Kibworth skipper Sundeep Patel made 41, hitting five boundaries and a maximum, and Shaw guided his side home with an unbeaten 56 from 58 balls.