MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY CRICKET CLUB

HELD AT THE LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY CRICKET CLUB, COUNTY GROUND, GRACE ROAD, LEICESTER

ON TUESDAY 31st MARCH 2015 AT 7.00PM

Present:	D Wilson CBE P Haywood A York P Bland R Matthews B Maddy H Doyle W Khan MBE	(President) (Chairman) (Director) (Director) (Director) (Director) (Director) (Chief Executive)
In Attendance:	O Brookshaw K Bathia J Wilks	(Partner, Spearing Waite Solicitors LLP) (Grant Thornton, UK LLP, Auditors) (Minute taker)
Apologies:	Apologies were received from J Allen (Director) A Rowell (Honorary Secretary LCCC, Partner, Spearing Waite LLP)	

1. Introduction

Mr David Wilson CBE, the Club President, welcomed all members to the Annual General Meeting of Leicestershire County Cricket Club. He then introduced and explained the work of the Leicestershire Young Cricketers Educational Trust (LYCET); £60,000 was raised between 2014-2015 to support young cricketers in Leicestershire. He continued to thank the Leicestershire County Cricket Club Board of Directors for their continued work and time they had dedicated to support the club over the past year.

Mr David Wilson CBE handed the meeting to the Chairman, Paul Haywood, to preside over the AGM.

2. Paul Haywood, Chairman of the Board

Paul Haywood thanked the President and introduced the top table to the members.

The Chairman thanked Mr Philip Bland for his support and guidance over his 4 years in term as a Director on the club Board. Philip Bland also sponsored the club over many years through Bland Bankart, now known as Arthur J Gallagher.

The Chairman spoke about the significant changes at the Club with Wasim Khan MBE appointed as Chief Executive and Andrew McDonald, a former Leicestershire County Cricket Club Cricketer, appointed as Head Coach.

The Chairman said that the apartment project had been put on hold and a comprehensive facilities review was being conducted. The Chairman said that the Club are moving forward with ambitious plans with the playing squad and improvements to the ground.

The Chairman introduced Wasim Khan MBE, Chief Executive to the members.

3. Wasim Khan MBE, Chief Executive

Wasim Khan thanked Mr Paul Haywood and Mr David Wilson CBE.

The Chief Executive introduced himself and gave some background to his career within cricket. He announced that it was a new and exciting era at Leicestershire County Cricket Club.

He stated that a robust 5-year business plan had been produced. Underpinning the plan was a vision to become the leading non-test match club in the country by 2019. Developing a competitive side on the field and evidencing year-on-year commercial growth off the field would be at the heart of driving progress. He stated that one of his goals would include securing a ground naming rights partner.

Investment would be made in the playing squad coupled with an emphasis on nurturing home grown talent through the academy and second team. The year ahead will see the First XI aspiring to get promoted and competing across all formats of the game.

He also said there will be significant advantages when the merger between the Club and the Leicestershire and Rutland Cricket Board is completed. The benefits would include one integrated community programme, increased accessibility to corporate funding and more efficient use of existing resources.

A recruitment drive in membership was to be put in place with an aim of recruiting 2,000 senior members and 2,000 junior members by 2019. He explained that he would like members to support this objective by promoting the new era at the Club, particularly to lapsed members.

The Chief Executive thanked the Chairman and the Board of Directors for their support and passed proceedings back to the Chairman, Mr Paul Haywood.

4. Annual General Meeting

4.1 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 27th February 2014 were approved. Proposed by Mr Robin Matthews, seconded by Mr Stewart Walker.

Votes for: 338. Votes against 2.

4.2 The annual report and accounts were presented by The Chairman, Mr Paul Haywood. The annual report and accounts were approved. Proposed by Mr David Wilson CBE, seconded by Mr Philip Bland.

Votes for: 345. Votes against: 2.

4.3 Re-appointment of Grant Thornton UK, LLP, Auditors. Proposed by Mr Stewart Walker, seconded by Mr Philip Bland.

Votes for: 343. Votes against: 7.

4.4 Election of Directors

Kaushik Bathia, a partner in Grant Thornton, which had acted as scrutineer for the purposes of counting the votes cast for the election of Directors, reported that the votes had been cast as follows:

Re-appoint Mr Robin Matthews as Director

Votes for: 311

Mr John Day to be nominated for election as a Director

Votes for: 300

Mr Neil Davidson to be nominated for election as a Director

Votes for: 43

Mr Stewart Walker to be nominated for election as a Director

Votes for: 93

It was duly declared that Mr Robin Matthews and Mr John Day were elected for a term of three years.

The meeting closed at 7.50pm.

Date:....

Mr P R Haywood Chairman