

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY CRICKET CLUB LIMITED

HELD AT THE LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY CRICKET CLUB, FISCHER COUNTY GROUND, GRACE ROAD, LEICESTER

ON WEDNESDAY 21st March 2018 AT 7.00PM

Present: D W Wilson CBE DL (President)

P R Haywood (Chairman)
J R Allen (Director)
J P Day (Director)
R B Matthews (Director)
R Spiers (Director)
A W York (Director)

W G Khan MBE (Chief Executive)

In Attendance: O C Brookshaw (Partner, Spearing Waite LLP)

A J Rowell (Honorary Secretary LCCC, Partner,

Spearing Waite LLP)

S Urwin (Leicestershire CCC, Finance Manager)

M Bulsara (Board Advisor)

J Wilks (Minute taker)

1. Apologies: Mr J Lee (Director)

Ms M Duke (Board Advisor)

Mr J Freer Mr G Woodard Mr A Boyce Mr J Baxter Mr R Pratt

2. Introduction

David Wilson CBE DL, the Club President, welcomed all Members to the 2018 Annual General Meeting of Leicestershire County Cricket Club. He proceeded to ask that all attendees stand to observe a minute's silence in memory of those members and past players who sadly

passed away in the last year. David Cawthorn asked that Dennis Elwyn-Elliott be added to the list of those who had passed away.

The President then handed over to the Chairman, Paul Haywood.

3. Paul Haywood, Chairman of the Board

The Chairman thanked David Wilson. He proceeded to inform the meeting that Item 6 on the agenda would be a video link to Paul Nixon, Head Coach addressing the Members in his absence.

The Chairman informed the meeting that the Special General Meeting held on 20th November 2017 would be reconvened in late August/September 2018, and that two Members' consultation evenings will be held at 7pm in the Charles Palmer Suite on:

- i. 21st June 2018 after the day's play v Middlesex CCC; and
- ii. 20th August 2018 after the day's play v Kent CCC.

The Chairman addressed the Members regarding current ECB matters. The ECB articles have been re-written, and the Chairmen and Chief Executives of the non-Test Match Grounds (NTMG) have insisted that the following would be added to the Article changes. There will be 18 First Class Counties (FCCs). There will be no changes to the current structure of the First-Class County Championship or the 50-Over competition, or the T20 competition. This was agreed by the ECB and the Minor Counties. It now requires a two-thirds majority vote by FCCs and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) to change any of the above.

The Chairman introduced Wasim Khan MBE.

4. Wasim Khan MBE, Chief Executive

Wasim Khan MBE explained that the return of Paul Nixon as the Club's Head Coach has created a positive vibe for the whole of the Club, including players, coaches, staff and Members. He said that the time had been right to bring Paul back and that he has a high-class coaching team with Matt Mason and Tom Smith supporting him and John Sadler.

Wasim said that the Club accepts that performances in red ball cricket were not good enough in 2017, but the team did reach the quarter-finals of the T20 competition, which was progress from previous years. He said that the players are hungry to succeed and that there will be healthy competition for places during the 2018 season.

He added that the commercial performance at the Club has been excellent, and that the Club has successfully reduced costs in key areas. Wasim thanked everyone at the Club, including Members, for their support and commitment in recent seasons.

5. Annual General Meeting

5.1 Minutes of Annual General Meeting on 22nd February 2017

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 7.00pm on Wednesday 22nd February 2017 were proposed by Mr D Goodacre and seconded by Mr J Stone and they were approved by the Members present.

5.2 The Annual Report and Accounts 2017

The Annual Report for 2017 was presented by the Chairman.

The Club's Finance Manager, Steve Urwin, presented the Club's Annual Accounts for the financial year to 30th September 2017, which showed a net profit for the third successive year

and an 'Earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortization' (EBITDA) measure of the Club's operating performance, which had improved by 51%.

Steve Urwin then answered questions from the Members and provided clarity on the Annual Accounts.

The Annual Report and Accounts for 2017 were proposed by Mr J Allen and seconded by Mr R Spiers and they were approved by the Members present.

5.3 Re-appointment of Magma Audit LLP

Resolutions to re-appoint Magma Audit LLP as the Club's Auditors and to authorise the Directors to determine their remuneration were proposed by Mr A York and seconded by Mr C Sutton and they were passed by the Members present.

5.4 Re-appointment of David Wilson CBE, DL as President

A resolution to re-appoint David Wilson CBE, DL as the Club's President was proposed by Mr C Sutton and seconded by Mr A York and it was passed by the Members present.

5.5 Election of Board of Directors

The proxy votes of the Members were counted and verified and the results of the election of the Board of Directors were announced as follows:

178 votes. Robin Matthews was re-elected as a Director for a term of three years.

177 votes. Roy Bent was elected as a Director for a term of three years.

142 votes and following the drawing of lots by the Chairman, Stephen Andrew Kind was elected as a Director for a term of three years.

142 votes and following the drawing of lots by the Chairman, John Philip Day was not reelected as a Director.

95 votes. Shahid Sheikh OBE was not elected as a Director.

6. Video Message from Paul Nixon (Head Coach)

The last item on the Agenda was a video message to Members from the Club's Head Coach, Paul Nixon, who was unable to attend the AGM as he was on the Club's pre-season tour to Spain. Paul said that he is delighted to be back at the Club, thanked everyone for their messages of support, and explained that the 'hard yards' put in this winter have ensured that the squad is in a 'good place' as it enters the new season.

7. Conclusion

The Chairman concluded the formal proceedings of the 2018 Annual General Meeting by thanking the Members for their attendance and said that he looked forward to welcoming everyone back to the Fischer County Ground for the 2018 season.

The meeting closed at 8.00pm.