Amy Jones & Sophie Ecclestone
Cricket News

England return to the FCG

Leicestershire CCC will host ICC Women’s World T20 finalists England in three Royal London ODIs as part of a massive summer of international cricket in 2019.

The Fischer County Ground will stage two matches against Australia in the Women’s Ashes on Tuesday, July 2 and Thursday, July 4 respectively, as well as the first ODI of the summer versus the West Indies on Thursday, June 6.

Heather Knight’s team will visit eight grounds across the country, including Taunton for the historic Women’s Ashes Test match.

The Women’s Ashes will once again be contested on a multi-format points system, while the West Indies ODIs will count towards the ICC Women’s Championship, with qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 at stake.

Leicestershire CCC Chief Executive Wasim Khan MBE said: “We are absolutely delighted to host two Ashes contests and the Royal London ODI against West Indies in what is a huge summer of international and domestic cricket.

“It has been a privilege to host England matches over the last three years, as well as the ICC Women’s World Cup, which was a hugely enjoyable and successful tournament.

“England have really captured the imagination of the nation by reaching the last two finals of white ball competitions, and Australia and West Indies are both talented sides too, so the three fixtures promise to be superb occasions at the Fischer County Ground in 2019.”

England will host West Indies in the UK for three ODIs and three IT20s, and that is followed by the Women’s Ashes, which is contested over three ODIs, three IT20s and one Test.

The Kia Super League will follow the Women's Ashes, with Finals Day once again taking place at Hove.

Clare Connor, Director of England Women’s Cricket, said: “We are thrilled to host two world class women’s teams on our shores in the summer of 2019.

“As we have just seen in front of record crowds at the ICC Women's World T20 in West Indies, both West Indies and Australia will be sure to provide a great challenge for us as well as skilful, entertaining cricket for the growing fan-base for the women’s game.

“Every Ashes summer is a privilege for us all to be part of and we’re looking forward to collaborating with all our venues to ensure we deliver high quality match-day experiences throughout the summer of 2019.”


Full Schedule:



Thursday June 6

*First ODI v West Indies. Fischer County Ground, Leicester

Sunday June 9

*Second ODI v West Indies. Blackfinch New Road, Worcester

Thursday June 13

*Third ODI v West Indies. Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford

Tuesday June 18

First IT20 v West Indies. Wantage Road, Northampton

Friday June 21

Second IT20 v West Indies. Wantage Road, Northampton

Tuesday June 25

Third IT20 v West Indies. County Ground, Derby



Tuesday July 2

First Women’s Ashes ODI. Fischer County Ground, Leicester

Thursday July 4

Second Women’s Ashes ODI. Fischer County Ground, Leicester

Sunday July 7

Third Women’s Ashes ODI. The 1st Central County Ground, Hove

Thursday July 18

Women’s Ashes Test. Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton

Friday July 26

First Women’s Ashes IT20. Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford

Sunday July 28

Second Women’s Ashes IT20. The 1st Central County Ground, Hove

Wednesday July 31

Third Women’s Ashes IT20. The Brightside Ground, Bristol



Sunday September 1

Kia Super League Finals Day, The 1st Central County Ground, Hove


(Note: * denotes ODI counts towards ICC Women’s Championship)