2018 League round-up 18

Lutterworth edged another step closer to winning the Premier Division as they thrashed Barkby with Lewis Hill again in the runs.

Barkby batted first and were bowled out for 100 with Alec Hill taking six for 27 from his 10 overs as he ran through the Barkby batting line-up. Matt Pickering fell early for 14, bringing Hill to the crease, and he made 53*. Oliver Pickering was 18 not out as Lutterworth won by nine wickets.

Kibworth are keeping the pressure up on Lutterworth and they comfortably beat Leicester Ivanhoe by 95 runs. Leicestershire CCC’s Aadil Ali scored 41 and Charlie Page-Morris hit a half-century as he and Richard Jackson (40) gave Kibworth a score to defend.

For Ivanhoe James Graham followed up his impressive performance for the Leicestershire Second Team in the week with four wickets. Ivanhoe’s chase never really got going losing regular wickets.

Richard Durose looked to keep his side in the game he made 29 but when he was dismissed, Ivanhoe’s hopes crumbled. Monik Patel took three wickets with Matt Bashford and Dave Whitmore both taking two.

Barrow won an entertaining game with Syston, who were bowled out for 143. Ram Ghuman top-scored with 67 and Faizal Jariwala made 35. Wewalwala Hewage Chanditha took three wickets for Barrow.

Syston had early hope as Ramesh Kara fell early but Academy batsman Jack Nightingale and Rishi Patel added 61 for the second wicket. A middle order collapse again kept Syston in the game as Barrow fell to 112-5 but Rahul Avatar’s unbeaten 20 guided Barrow to a four-wicket victory.

Sileby chased down Kegworth’s score of 220 to secure an impressive win. Brent Williams made 53 for Kegworth, George Scottorn 38 and Alex Glover 39 not out. Kieran Chance was the star with the ball for Sileby in taking 4-24 from his 10 overs. He was supported by Jigar Naik, who took 3-21 from his allocation.

Sileby’s chase included plenty of contributions with opener Dave Torr posting 53. Liam Kinch made 40 and both Jake Gillet and Chris Yates 26. Sileby got over the line seven wickets down with an over to spare, as Harry Bates 5* and Aaron Smith 10* finished the job for them.

Academy all-rounder Don Butchart had a fine game for Harborough but couldn’t prevent his side falling to a 39-run defeat to the hands of Loughborough Town.

Anish Patel top-scored for Loughborough with 80 and some lower order contributions pushed Loughborough’s score to 239, Michael Hosking the pick of the bowlers for Harborough in taking three for 44.

Butchart did his absolute best to guide Harborough to victory as he made 84 at the top of the order, as he added 70 for the first wicket with Tom Leonard. Harborough were 173-3 with James Nuttall also passing 50.

However, Nuttall and Butchart fell in quick succession, as did the lower order for Harborough as they were bowled out for 200. Neel Gandhi was in fine form for Loughborough taking 5-31.

The final game in the division saw Langtons ease to victory over Uppingham. Uppingham made 190 from their 50 overs with Martin Bennett top-scoring with an unbeaten 42. Asif Mai took three wickets for Langtons.

Sarfaraj Patel then hit 68 for Langtons to steer them towards victory and it was left to Zuber Patel 42* and Mubarak Patel 13* to see their side home by five wickets.

* For the very latest news from the Leicestershire & Rutland Cricket League, check out their website HERE