2018 League round-up 19

Leicestershire CCC opener Sam Evans was in the runs for Leicester Ivanhoe as they returned to winning ways against Sileby.

Sileby batted first with opener Jake Gillet 61 before a middle order collapse left Sileby 134-8. Aaron Smith hit 46 at number 10 and Ryan Dawson 15 added 46 for the last wicket setting Ivanhoe 220 to win.

Evans then batted through, scoring 93 to guide his side to victory while wickets fell around him. He found a partner to close in the four-wicket victory as Jack Gilford made 27* from 17 balls.

Lutterworth stayed top of the league as they beat Kegworth by 92 runs. Leicestershire CCC wicket-keeper Lewis Hill top-scored with 62 as his side amassed of 269-9 from their 50 overs. Kegworth never got near the Lutterworth total as they succumbed to 177 all out.

Kibworth kept up the pressure on Lutterworth as they beat Uppingham. Kibworth batted first with skipper Sunny Patel top scoring with 58. Alongside opener Matt Craven (39) they added 77 for the first wicket but Kibworth only added another 120 to that score, setting Uppingham 200 to win.

Leicestershire CCC’s Aadil Ali then shone with the ball taking five wickets as Uppingham crumbled from 120 for two to 165 all out. Benjamin Farnsworth top-scored with 62 and Academy player Nick Green 38 had given Uppingham hope but Kibworth won by 34 runs.

Barkby took a step closer to avoiding relegation as they beat Barrow. Batting first, Barkby made 206-6 with major contributions from David Tew with 49 and Harry Funnell 47. Umar Afzal took three wickets for Barrow.

Barrow skipper Ramesh Kara top-scored for his side with 73 but lacked support from other than Sardeep Salgotra (34) and Rishi Patel (29) as they scored 185 all out. David Botting took four wickets and Cameron Sharp three.

Langtons won a thriller against Loughborough by a solitary wicket. Loughborough batted first but slumped to 71 for six before George Kenny hit an unbeaten 54 to propel his side to 167. Maaz Sheth took four wickets and both Asif Mai and Soyab Salajee both took two wickets.

The Langtons’ run chase was somewhat nervy with plenty of batsmen getting starts before being dismissed. Muhammad Salajee was the mainstay and his 45 not out guided Langtons to victory. The chase was aided by 22 extras from the Loughborough bowling attack.

Kenny followed up his unbeaten half-century with three wickets but it wasn’t quite enough to see his side to victory.

Market Harborough ensued another tough day as they were bowled out for 42 by Syston. Vibhu Yadav took three wickets with the new ball, there were a couple of run outs and two wickets for both Zahir Taher and Faizal Jariwala.

Syston then chased their target for the loss of two wickets, Charlie Taylor finished 15* and Charles Wootton 19*.

* For the very latest news from the Leicestershire & Rutland Cricket League, check out their website HERE