2018 League round-up 20

Kibworth went top of the Leicestershire & Rutland Premier League as they thrashed Langtons. Kibworth made 316-4 from their 50 overs with captain Sunny Patel top-scoring with 112 not out.

Hamish Merriman scored 73 and Leicestershire CCC batsman Aadil Ali weighed in with 60. Kibworth were then emphatic with the ball as Langtons finished at 194-9 from their 50 overs. Aadil’s fine day continued as he took three wickets, as did Charlie Page-Morris.

Lutterworth were well beaten by Barrow as Rishi Patel hit a stunning 175 to take the game out of their hands. Patel was well-supported by Ramesh Kara (59) and Sardeep Salgotra (45).

The team will have felt they had a sniff at 60 without loss but regular wickets left them struggling at 143-7 with Wewalwala Hewage Chanditha taking four wickets and Tom Shipman and Umar Afzal both claiming two. Karl Smith top-scored for Lutterworth with 40 but his side lost by 82 runs.

Barkby beat Uppingham as the latter were consigned to relegation. Uppingham made 148 before being bowled out with Aiden Morris taking 5-27 despite Jamie Dunford scoring 41.

The Barkby chase was a rocky one as they slipped to 46 for five but Louis Botting hit an unbeaten half-century and Cameron Sharp 27* to see their side to a three-wicket victory.

Anish Patel made 121* as Loughborough beat Leicester Ivanhoe by 76 runs. Patel was supported by Charlie Lowen (55) and Sam Bates (33) at the top of the order.

Ivanhoe’s chase never got going as Nil Patel and Ashish Trusz ran through the top order. Jack Gilford top-scored for Ivanhoe with 32 at the top of the order and Imran Khan also made 35. Nil Patel finished with four wickets and Trusz and Ali Frost both took two as Loughborough won comfortably.

Don Butchart made 65 for Market Harborough but he couldn’t prevent his side losing by five wickets at the hands of Sileby. Harborough were bowled out for 134 with former Fox Jigar Naik taking five wickets. Aaron Smith then hit 32*. Syston’s game with Kegworth was abandoned.

* For the very latest news from the Leicestershire & Rutland Cricket League, check out their website HERE