Harry Swindells v Derbys 2020
Cricket News

Foxes force second innings as Derbyshire win on day three

DAY THREE | Leicestershire CCC 199 & 220 v Derbyshire CCC 408 and 12 for one

POINTS | Leicestershire 3, Derbyshire 24

SCORECARD | Available from Cricinfo HERE

REPORT | Harry Swindells claimed his first-class best score of 41no as Leicestershire force Derbyshire into their second innings.

The Fischer County Ground endured a brief spattering of rain but was soon drenched in glorious sunshine as the beginning of the third day of Bob Willis Trophy action loomed.

Leicestershire were heading in to resume their second innings after a late rally yesterday from the bowling attack had Derbyshire all out for 408.

The day required one more over of play before its conclusion, which saw Hassan Azad accompanied to the crease by nightwatchman Callum Parkinson.

The duo survived Luis Reece’s over as the second day ended with Leicestershire on 2 without loss, trailing by 207.

The opening partnership achieved their first target of reducing the deficit to below 200 as Parkinson pushed Reece through the off-side to bring up the first boundary of the day.

Azad soon added to that with a boundary of his own following an outside edge through gully off Conners in the following over.

The duo were steadily ticking along as they kept chipping away at the deficit which was coming down slowly, all whilst not being too threatened by the Derbyshire attack.

However, Ed Barnes joined the attack for the visitors as he searched for his maiden first-class wicket and he soon had not one, but two to his name.

The youngster claimed the wicket of Parkinson (13) after he chopped on from an off-side delivery, and followed it up quickly with the wicket of Ben Slater (0) as the Leicestershire-loanee edged through to Wayne Madsen at first slip.

The standout batsman from the first innings for the Running Foxes; Harry Dearden, emerged as he and partner Hassan Azad looked to restore some composure back into the Leicestershire batting.

Dearden came and in and along with Azad, stemmed the tide from the Derbyshire attack following Barnes’ quick flurry of wickets.

The 23-year old mirrored his partner at the other end as neither batsman committed to high-risk shots and waited for loose balls from the bowler to capitalise on.

Leicestershire entered the lunch break sitting on 67 for two with Azad 25* and Dearden 23*.

The partnership came out for the second session and picked up the run-rate as they raced away to bring up the 100 for Leicestershire.

Moments after though, and the 70-run partnership was broken after Dearden lofted one to Reece at mid-wicket off the bowling of Critchley for 47.

Leicestershire were 104 for three as Ackermann came to the crease, looking to wipe out the remaining 105-run deficit.

The deficit crept under the 100-run total but soon after, Leicestershire were another wicket down.

Hassan Azad was pinned lbw for 40 by Leus du Plooy as Derbyshire now moved into a strong position.

George Rhodes came in as Leicestershire would now be looking to survive the day and he and his captain were playing a stubborn game, providing a staunch defence against the Derbyshire attack.

The partnership was nearing the hour mark when Melton pinned Rhodes lbw for 8 and with it, the visiting team built up a head of steam.

Captain Ackermann soon followed after Madsen took a superb catch down to his right after Ackermann edged a Critchley delivery.

He went for 22 and was replaced by Ben Mike.

Mike (0) only managed to last three balls as Critchley took his second wicket of the over as du Plooy reacted quickly to catch Mike’s outside edge.

Mike’s replacement, Dieter Klein lasted two balls fewer than his teammate as Critchley claimed his third with the final ball of the over to leave himself on a hat-trick.

Klein nicked the delivery through to Hosein as Leicestershire now found themselves on 140 for eight.

A hat-trick did not come for Critchley, who was bowling to Harry Swindells. The wicket-keeper batsman managed to pick up his first boundary of the innings after taking a couple of steps down the track to hit Critchley back down the wicket and over the rope.

Only five balls were bowled after the tea break before Derbyshire came within one wicket of the win.

It was Davis (8) to go after he was caught in the slips by Madsen off the bowling of Critchley.

Chris Wright came to the crease to complete the Leicestershire batting line-up.

The partnership of Swindells and Wright proved tough to break as Derbyshire saw their lead slipping away.

The duo were playing a patient, persistent innings as they kept chipping away at the Derbyshire lead, and soon the lead had been wiped out following Harry Swindells’ second boundary.

His third boundary then brought up his first-class career best, surpassing the 37 he posted at Aigburth against Lancashire and what was also his first-class debut.

He could only reach 41no though, as Critchley claimed the final wicket of the innings as he bowled Chris Wright for 23.

Thnaks to the final wicket partnership of Swindells and Wright of 52 from 96, Leicestershire took a slender lead into Derbyshire’s second innings after finishing on 220 – leading by 11.

Callum Parkinson opened the bowling for the Foxes with Luis Reece on strike as the spinner made a fist of the 11-run lead.

Colin Ackermann opted for an all spin attack as he partnered Parkinson.

Parkinson was not going to take the defeat lying down as he claimed the scalp of Derbyshire captain Billy Godleman after the batsman nicked one through to Harry Swindells who took an easy grab.

Godleman went for four. Soon after, the winning runs came in the form of byes as Derbyshire brought up the 12-run target in four overs.

Figures (2nd inns) | Reece 9-2-20-0, Conners 8-3-21-0, Barnes 11-4-24-2, Melton 14-2-25-1, Hughes 3-0-35-0, Critchley 25.3-3-73-6, du Plooy 7-1-16-1

Parkinson 2-0-5-1, Ackermann 2-0-5-0

TEAM | Hassan Azad, Ben Slater, Harry Dearden, Colin Ackermann (C), George Rhodes, Harry Swindells (wk), Ben Mike, Callum Parkinson, Dieter Klein, Will Davis, Chris Wright.

Derbyshire CCC | Billy Godleman (C), Luis Reece, Wayne Madsen, Leus du Plooy, Alex Hughes, Matt Critchley, Harvey Hosein, Anuj Dal, Dustin Melton, Ed Barnes, Sam Conners

IMAGES | Thanks to John Mallett of Outside Off for providing the images throughout the game.